Visible/Invisible : négocier l’impossible

In 2002, Paul Crutzen proposed the term Anthropocene to designate a new geological era characterized by the impact of human activities on the environment. If we see the explosion of the first nuclear bomb in the Alamogordo Desert, New Mexico on July 16, 1945, as marking the start of this new era, we cannot be so sure of the signals to expect in the future. The only certainty that we have is an accelerated rate of change to the planet itself and that is the result of human actions.

What can artists do in the middle of all these landslide changes to environmental baselines? How can artists contribute to the debates? What are the consequences and the possibilities of our gestures? Our project Visible / Invisible is an existentialist game where the spec-actors can re-define their presence and rapport with the world. If the playground is big, it is not infinite.

Daniel Dugas is a digital artist, a poet and a musician who has participated in solo exhibitions and group shows in Canada and abroad. He has been an artist in residence at the Banff Centre (British Columbia), the Sculpture Space (New York City), EMMEDIA (Calgary), A.I.R. Vallauris (France), the Sydney College of the Arts (Australia) and, more recently, at the Everglades National Park (Florida) in collaboration with Valerie LeBlanc. His work often tackles ecology, technology and the shifting borders of life.

More information on Daniel Dugas.


Valerie LeBlanc
has presented throughout Canada, the US, in Europe and Australia. Her creations travel between video poetry, fiction, performance, visual and written theory.

While pursuing her Doctoral studies through the Sydney College of the Arts, University of Sydney, AU, (2013) LeBlanc travelled to the Northern territories exploring locations around Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Alice Springs.

For more insight into the work of pluridisciplinary artist Valerie LeBlanc.

Visible/Invisible : négocier l’impossible

Paul Crutzen proposait en 2002 le terme Anthropocène pour désigner une nouvelle ère géologique caractérisée par l’impact de l’activité humaine sur l’environnement mondial. Si nous savons que cette époque a commencé le 16 juillet 1945 avec la première explosion nucléaire dans le désert d’Alamogordo au Nouveau-Mexique, nous sommes incertains de la tournure des choses. La seule chose que nous savons c’est que la vitesse des changements — la perte de biodiversité, changement climatique, érosion des sols — s’est accélérée de façon exponentielle.

Quelle est la place des artistes dans tous ces glissements de terrain? Comment pouvons-nous contribuer aux débats? Quelles sont les conséquences et les possibilités des gestes posés? Notre projet visible / invisible est un jeu existentialiste où les spec-acteurs sont amenés à redéfinir leur présence et leur rapport au monde. Si le terrain de jeu est vaste, il n’est pas sans limites.

Artiste numérique, poète et musicien, Daniel Dugas a participé à des expositions individuelles et de groupe au Canada et à l’étranger. Il a été́ un artiste en résidence au Banff Centre, à Sculpture Space (New York), à EMMEDIA (Calgary), à A.I.R. Vallauris (France), au Sydney College of the Arts (Australie) et plus récemment au parc National des Everglades (Floride) avec sa collaboratrice Valerie LeBlanc. L’écologie, la technologie et les frontières mouvantes de la vie sont des thèmes souvent abordés dans son œuvre.

Pour plus d’information sur le travail de Daniel Dugas.


Valerie LeBlanc a présenté son travail partout au Canada, aux États-Unis d’Amérique, en Europe et en Australie. Ses œuvres naviguent entre vidéopoésie, fiction, performance, et théorie visuelle et littéraire.

En faisant ses études doctorales au Sydney College of the Arts, University of Sydney, AU, (2013) LeBlanc a voyagé dans les territoires du Nord pour explorer des sites près d’Uluru, de Kata Tjuta et d’Alice Springs.

For more insight into the work of pluridisciplinary artist Valerie LeBlanc.